About Blaxland

The Federal electorate of Blaxland runs from the M4 to M5 between Woodville Road and Stacey Street, covering 61 square kilometres and taking in the Canterbury-Bankstown and Cumberland  local government areas in Sydney's west. From north to south it includes the suburbs of Auburn, parts of Lidcombe, Berala, South Granville, Villawood, Chester Hill, Bass Hill, Regents Park, Yagoona, Georges Hall, Milperra, Condell Park and Bankstown.


Approximately 143,000 people live in Blaxland.

It is one of the most culturally diverse electorates in Australia, with 44.5% of the population born overseas.

Apart from English, the main languages spoken in the home are Arabic (19%) and Vietnamese (14%).

A variety of religions are also represented with 27% of residents identifying as Catholic, 16% as Buddhist and 15% as Islamic.

Since Blaxland was proclaimed in 1949, it has been continuously represented in Federal Parliament by a member of the Australian Labor Party.

Blaxland was once represented by former Prime Minister Paul Keating. He was first elected the Member for Blaxland in 1969, at the age of 25. He was the Prime Minister of Australia from 20 December 1991 to 11 March 1996.

MPs who have represented Blaxland:

  • Jason Clare (ALP) 2007- present
  • Michael Hatton (ALP) 1996-2007
  • Paul Keating (ALP) 1969-1996
  • Eli James Harrison (ALP) 1949-1969

The electorate is named after pioneer farmer and explorer, Gregory Blaxland (1778-1853). In 1813, he led the first known European expedition across the Blue Mountains, along with William Lawson and William Charles Wentworth.